2029 students awarded degree during IIT Roorkee Convocation

2029 students awarded degree during IIT Roorkee Convocation
Team Careers360 | Oct 7, 2019 - 6:06 p.m. IST
Share Via

NEW DELHI, OCTOBER 07: As many as 2029 degrees were awarded during the annual convocation of Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee (IIT Roorkee). This includes 1018 undergraduate recipients, 702 were Post Graduate Recipients and 309 PhD degrees.

This Year total of 41 Gold medals were awarded to students of various courses for securing highest CGPA in their respective programmes and classes. President Gold medal for securing highest CGPA amongst the graduating students was awarded to Pulkit Singal of B. Tech. Mechanical Engineering for securing 9.908 CGPA. Pulkit also got four other awards. He also received a cash prize of Rs. 50,000 for his innovative B. Tech. Project which is started by one alumni of the Institute. Out of 41 Gold medalists, 12 were girl students.

Speaking about the convocation Prof. A. K. Chaturvedi, Director, IIT Roorkee, said, “The presence of the Honorable President of India Shri Ram Nath Kovind made our 19th Convocation memorable. His address inspired the graduating students as they step out of IIT Roorkee into the real world. I am sure his words will resonate with them at every stage in their life.”

The Institute Bronze medalist Tanvi Verma, a student of B. Tech. Engineering Physics was another top performer of the graduating batch. She got a total of five medals/ awards. There were at least five girl students who got more than two awards in this convocation. This shows that girls are competing for neck to neck with boys. It also embodies the Bharat ki Laxmi philosophy of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Speaking on the convocation, HRD Minister Dr. Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’ said, “I congratulate each and every student getting their degrees today. You are going into the world today after getting your degree from one of the most prestigious institutes. Your time to effectively & efficiently showcase your learnings from IIT Roorkee starts today.”

President of India Ram Nath Kovind said, “I am honoured to be here at one of India’s oldest and pioneering Engineering Institute. For the graduating students, this occasion represents a major milestone. I congratulate you on this seminal occasion. You are leaving this historic campus for the excitement of a career in a world which is full of opportunities.”

This was the first time when IIT Roorkee gave out awards to PhD scholars. A new award with the name of “Excellence in Doctoral Research” was started this year. Three Ph D scholars who got their doctorate degree in the convocation got this award. It is similar to the Best PhD award given in many other institutes. Dr Pallavi Gupta, Centre for Nanotechnology, Dr. Dhiraj Raj, Department of Earthquake Engineering and Dr. Yogesh kumar Manibhai Makwana, Department of Electrical Engineering received this award. Each of them got an Rs 50,000/- cash prize.

Stay updated with latest Education News
Back to top