Two IIT Hyderabad professors selected for NASI-Young Scientist Platinum Jubilee Awards

Two IIT Hyderabad professors selected for NASI-Young Scientist Platinum Jubilee Awards
Abhay Anand | Aug 14, 2018 - 6:30 p.m. IST
Share Via

NEW DELHI, AUGUST 14: Two faculty members of the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Hyderabad have been chosen for the NASI-Young Scientist Platinum Jubilee Awards (2018) by the National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI) this year.

Dr. Sushmee Badhulika, Associate Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering has been chosen in recognition of her excellence in category of ‘Electronics, Computer Science and Engineering’. Dr. Aravind Kumar Rengan, Assistant Professor, Plasmonic NAnoSpace (P-NAS) Laboratory, Department of Biomedical Engineering was chosen in the Bio-medical, Molecular Biology and Bio-technology category.

SUSHMEEAccepting the award, Dr. Sushmee Badhulika said, “I started working in the field of flexible nanoelectronics after joining IIT Hyderabad in 2014. I am thankful to IITH for providing an incredible work environment with very bright and hardworking students. I feel extremely humbled that our research has being recognized by all National Science and Engineering Academies of India. It motivates me to continue working in a field where role of women researchers is somewhat subdued.”

Dr. Badhulika's primary research is flexible nanoelectronics and electrochemical nanosensors. Her research focus is to develop low-cost multifunctional nanosensors for healthcare. She also works in the field of eco-friendly electronics, paper electronics and supercapacitors for energy storage applications.

Dr. Aravind Kumar Rengan, said, “I am very happy to receive this prestigious award from NASI, the first science academy of India. The entire credit goes to the students of my lab at IIT Hyderabad. I thank all my mentors, well-wishers and IITH for their constant support and encouragement.”

ARVINDDr. Rengan heads the Plasmonic NAnoSpace laboratory (P-NAS Lab) at IIT Hyderabad and is working in the area of cancer nanotechnology. The award was given in recognition of his work for developing affordable nanomedicines towards cancer theranostics (combining diagnostics with therapeutics). He plans to perform translational research involving novel nanomedicines synthesized in IIT Hyderabad laboratories and proceed towards human clinical trials in collaboration with Pharma Industry.

His research is focused on developing affordable nanosystems to achieve better outcome in cancer treatment. Some of his earlier awards include DST INSPIRE, DBT Innovative Young Biotechnologist Award, INSA Young Scientist Medal, IIT Bombay - Excellence in PhD Thesis.

Follow us for the latest education news on colleges and universities, admission, courses, exams, schools, research, NEP and education policies and more..

To get in touch, write to us at

Back to top