IIT Patna 9th Convocation 2022: 521 students awarded degrees

IIT Patna: Out of 521 students, a total of 422 male and 99 female students were given BTech, Msc, MTech and PhD degrees. Special medals were also awarded.

IIT Patna convocationIIT Patna convocation

Anu Parthiban | December 7, 2022 | 05:13 PM IST

NEW DELHI: The Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Patna held the 9th convocation today December 7 on campus. A total of 521 students were awarded degrees in the convocation, which include BTech, MSc, MTech and PhD students.

Jalaj A Dani, chairman of Addverb Technologies Ltd was the chief guest of the function. The guest of honour G Satheesh Reddy, Scientific advisor to Defence Minister, and Anand Deshpande, chairman Board of Governors, IIT Patna, board members and members of Senate of IIT Patna were also present.

A total of 242 BTech, 64 MSc, 113 MTech and 102 PhD students received their degrees today. Out of 521 students, a total of 422 male and 99 female students were given degrees among various programmes.

In India Rankings NIRF 2021 and 2022 by ministry of education, IIT Patna is positioned 21st and 33rd respectively among engineering institutions of the country and is positioned at 51st and 59th for overall ranking respectively.

IIT Patna director TN Singh discussed in detail about the various academic, research, student, infrastructure development, start-up, Technology Incubation Hub (TIH), Outreach and Industry-Academia, Alumni related activities which are taking place in the institute.

Also read | Kerala to ‘pressurise’ centre to restore pre-matric scholarship for Classes 1-8

The degrees were awarded in various branches of engineering, science, and social sciences which include Civil and Environmental Engineering, Computer Science Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Chemical and Biochemical Engineering, Humanities and Social Science, Metallurgical and Materials Engineering, Mathematics and Computing, and Mechatronics.

In addition to degrees, medals and prizes were awarded to outstanding students under the following categories.

  • President of India Gold Medal - Puspesh Kumar, Computer Science and Engineering
  • Director's Gold Medal - Kishan Kumar Singh, Electrical Engineering
  • Chairman's Gold Medal – Aditya Kumar (CBE)
  • Aryabhatta Gold Medal – Manmohan Sahu ( Mathematics)
  • Several students also received “Institute Silver Medals”

Follow us for the latest education news on colleges and universities, admission, courses, exams, research, education policies, study abroad and more..

To get in touch, write to us at news@careers360.com.

Download Our App

Start you preparation journey for JEE / NEET for free today with our APP

  • Students250M+Students
  • College30,000+Colleges
  • Exams500+Exams
  • Ebooks1500+Ebooks
  • Certification12000+Certifications