5 professors conferred with Visitor’s Awards; 3 from University of Hyderabad

President Droupadi Murmu presented the Visitor’s Awards 2021 to 4 professors and 2020 award to 1 for different fields during the Visitor’s Conference 2023.

Image: President Droupadi Murmu conferring Visitor's Award to one of the professors. (Source: Official Twitter Account/Ministry of Education)Image: President Droupadi Murmu conferring Visitor's Award to one of the professors. (Source: Official Twitter Account/Ministry of Education)

Vagisha Kaushik | July 11, 2023 | 03:05 PM IST

NEW DELHI: President Droupadi Murmu awarded the Visitor’s Conference Awards to five professors of different universities for their contributions to different fields. The award ceremony is being hosted on July 10 and 11 at the Rashtrapati Bhawan and union education minister Dharmendra Pradhan is also present.

Among the awardees are three professors from the University of Hyderabad, one from the Central University of South Bihar, and one from Dr Harisingh Gour Vishwavidyalaya, Sagar. This year’s conference focussed on 'Education for Sustainable Development: Building a better world.'

“The President of India, Smt Droupadi Murmu conferred the Visitor’s Awards 2021 at the inauguration of the Visitor’s Conference 2023 at Rashtrapati Bhavan last evening,” the ministry of education said in a tweet.

Professor Venktesh Singh from the School of Physical and Chemical Sciences, Central University of South Bihar has been conferred with the “Innovation” award for developing indigenous charge pick-up panels for resistive plate chamber detector using silicon fiber sheet.

The Visitor’s Award 2021 for ‘Research in Physical Sciences’ award was given to professor Surajit Dhara from the School of Physics, University of Hyderabad for his work in soft matter and liquid crystals.

Also Read | National Award To Teachers 2023: Nominations invited from ITIs, polytechnic institutes, universities

Professor Mohammed Latif Khan from Dr Harisingh Gour Vishwavidyalaya, Sagar got the award for ‘Research in Biological Sciences’ for his contributions in understanding of forest biodiversity, regeneration of Rare, Endangered and Threatened (RET) plant species and threat status assessments of forests in the Eastern Himalayas and Central India.

Professor KC James Raju from the School of Physics, University of Hyderabad was presented with the Visitor’s Award 2021 for ‘Technology Development’ for his contributions in frequency tunable microwave devices using ferroelectric thin films.

Moreover, Professor Anunay Samanta, School of Chemistry, University of Hyderabad has been awarded with the Visitor’s Award 2020 for ‘Research in Physical Sciences’ for his research contributions to the spectroscopy and dynamics of short-lived chemical species formed on photo-excitation of molecular systems and materials.

Follow us for the latest education news on colleges and universities, admission, courses, exams, research, education policies, study abroad and more..

To get in touch, write to us at news@careers360.com.

Download Our App

Start you preparation journey for JEE / NEET for free today with our APP

  • Students250M+Students
  • College30,000+Colleges
  • Exams500+Exams
  • Ebooks1500+Ebooks
  • Certification12000+Certifications