BHU introduces four new scholarships for law, chemistry students

BHU will award Sita Ram and Ajudhia Devi scholarships and Bhagwati and Mulk Raj Mahajan scholarships from 2024-25 session.

BHU to award four new scholarships (Image: Official)BHU to award four new scholarships (Image: Official)

Vagisha Kaushik | December 23, 2023 | 06:30 PM IST

NEW DELHI: Banaras Hindu University has announced four new scholarships, two each for law and chemistry students, with the help of a donation of Rs 20 lakh received under the Pratidana initiative. The Sita Ram and Ajudhia Devi scholarships and Bhagwati and Mulk Raj Mahajan scholarships will be awarded from the 2024-25 academic session.

The former will be awarded to one female BSc (Honors) Chemistry student and one MSc Chemistry student each. The second scholarship will be given to one female first-year LLB student and one second year LLM student.

Madan Mohan Kayastha and his wife Santosh Kayastha have made the donation to start the scholarships in the memory of their parents. Kayastha is an alumnus of BHU and had earned an MTech degree in Industrial Chemistry in the year 1951.

The Sita Ram and Ajudhia Devi scholarships have been set up in the memory of parents of Madan Mohan Kayastha whereas Bhagwati and Mulk Raj Mahajan scholarships have been set up as a tribute to the parents of Santosh Kayastha (Mahajan).

Madan Mohan Kayastha expressed that it was a momentous occasion for him and his family that Banaras Hindu University has acknowledged their gesture of support and regard in form of donation. He hoped that the scholarships will help students in their pursuit of education.

BHU vice-chancellor Sudhir Kumar Jain while interacting with the donors expressed gratitude for their support. He said that the commitment and connection BHU’s alumni have with the university is truly heartening.

Present on the occasion, Dean, Faculty of Science, Professor S M Singh said that the scholarship will promote excellence and competitiveness among students. Professor Maya Shankar Singh, head, department of chemistry, said his department is among the largest in the university. Briefing about the journey of the department, Professor Singh praised the donors for their endeavor to support the cause of science.

Professor C P Upadhyaya, Dean, Faculty of Law, informed that the faculty has recently completed 100 years of its coming into existence. He said that two new scholarships being initiated in the centennial celebration year of the faculty is not only special but also inspiring to others.

Follow us for the latest education news on colleges and universities, admission, courses, exams, research, education policies, study abroad and more..

To get in touch, write to us at

Download Our App

Start you preparation journey for JEE / NEET for free today with our APP

  • Students300M+Students
  • College36,000+Colleges
  • Exams550+Exams
  • Ebooks1500+Ebooks
  • Certification16000+Certifications