Centre instructs CBSE to conduct CTET in 20 languages as earlier

Centre instructs CBSE to conduct CTET in 20 languages as earlier
Abhay Anand | Jun 18, 2018 - 5:35 p.m. IST
Share Via

NEW DELHI, JUNE 18: The Union Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD) has directed the Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) to conduct the Central Teacher Eligibility Test (CTET) examination in all the 20 languages as was being done earlier.

Prakash Javadekar, Union Minister of HRD brushing aside reports of CTET to be conducted in only three languages has said that CTET examination will be conducted in all Indian languages like it was being conducted earlier.

Reportedly, CBSE had dropped the option of multiple languages barring Hindi, Sanskrit and English from the language option of central teacher eligibility test. The test is an eligibility criteria for appointments of teachers in CBSE affiliated schools. Until last year, 20 language options were available for Candidates.

Javadekar, however, publicly assured that the exam will be conducted in the same design as it was being done earlier. “CTET examination will be held in English, Hindi, Assamese, Bangla, Garo, Gujarati, Kanada, Khasi, Malyalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Mizo, Nepali, Oriya, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Tamil, Telugu,Tibetan & Urdu,” he tweeted.

The decision of the CBSE caused huge discomfort among candidates from other languages. Many regional political parties had demanded reversal of the new announcement of dropping regional language options from the CTET exam. They had also termed the decision of the CBSE, which is the exam conducting body, an attack on the federal structure of the country.

Follow us for the latest education news on colleges and universities, admission, courses, exams, schools, research, NEP and education policies and more..

To get in touch, write to us at news@careers360.com.

Back to top