Amity Institute of Travel and Tourism bags FICCI’s Best Institute Award

Amity Institute of Travel and Tourism bags FICCI’s Best Institute Award
Team Careers360 | Aug 26, 2019 - 6:11 p.m. IST
Share Via

NEW DELHI, AUGUST 26: Amity Institute of Travel and Tourism, Amity University Uttar Pradesh was conferred upon the Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FICCI) Tourism and Travel Excellence Awards, 2019 under the category “Award Based on Skills –Including Best Travel and Tourism Institute” during a function held in Delhi.

The award was received under the by Prof. (Dr.) M. Sajnani, Dean Faculty of Hospitality & Tourism, Amity University Uttar Pradesh, Noida. The category on skills saw more than 18 entries from leading Government and Private Institutions from across the Country. The awards were instituted by FICCI in Technical association with EY (Ernst & Young LLP).

The awards were conceptualized to recognize states, organizations and individuals for their exceptional contribution to tourism in India while encouraging innovation and entrepreneurship in the space. The aim of the awards is to give a boost to inbound and domestic tourism across various platforms, undertaking special initiatives as well as addressing key industry issues while acting as a catalyst for policy change.

The award function was presided over by Sh. Jyoti Prakash Panigrahi, Minister for Odia Language, Literature Culture & Tourism Govt. of Odisha; Mr. Jitender Kumar (IAS), Principal Secretary, Culture, GAD, Language, UPRCD; Dr. Jyotsna Suri, CMD, Bharat Hotels & Chairperson, FICCI Tourism Committee; Sh. Thendhup N Sherpa, W.B.C.S. (Exe.), Joint Director & Deputy Secretary, Tourism Department Govt. of West Bengal and Mr. Jitendra K. Mohanty, MHCIMA, Chairman & Managing Director, Swosti Group of Hotels and Resorts

In the introductory address the chair of the jury, Sh. Vinod Zutshi (IAS), Ex. Secretary, Ministry of Tourism, Government of India and Mr. Piyush Jain, Director EY introduced the transparent process adopted for the shortlisting, validation and selection of the awardees done by the jury.

With an eminent jury panel comprising of Mr. Vinod Zutshi (IAS), Former Secretary, Ministry of Tourism, Government of India; Mr. Pronab Sarkar, President, Indian Association of Tour Operators (IATO); Mr. Dilip Chenoy, Secretary-General, FICCI; Dr. Bhanwar Lal (IAS), Director, Tourism, Government of Rajasthan; Mr. Kapil Kaul, CEO, South Asia, CAPA Centre for Aviation; Capt. Swadesh Kumar, President, Adventure Tour Operators Association of India (ATOA) among others, awards were handed out in the fields of Tourism and Hospitality. The jury also shared that more than 300 entries were received by EY and after initial the screening and validation, 03-05 nominations were presented before the jury for selection of final awardee.

The award function was attended by more than 300 leading organizations and institutions from Tourism and Hospitality sector from all across the country.

Follow us for the latest education news on colleges and universities, admission, courses, exams, schools, research, NEP and education policies and more..

To get in touch, write to us at

Back to top