IIT Kanpur Professor Yogesh M Joshi elected as Fellow of the Society of Rheology 2022

IIT Kanpur: Yogesh Joshi was also awarded the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award in Engineering Sciences by the Government of India in 2015.

Professor Yogesh M Joshi (Image: IIT Kanpur official website)Professor Yogesh M Joshi (Image: IIT Kanpur official website)

Anu Parthiban | June 30, 2022 | 01:23 PM IST

Kanpur: The Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Kanpur, Professor Yogesh M Joshi from the Department of Chemical Engineering has been elected as one of the Fellows of the Society of Rheology, 2022. “He is the first Indian to be selected for this prestigious honor,” IITK said.

Also Read | Kerala: Women in chemical sciences face caste, gender bias, finds study

The institute said, “The Society of Rheology Fellowship is a prestigious status that “status recognizes a history of distinguished scientific achievement, a significant technological accomplishment, and/or outstanding scholarship in the field of Rheology.” (The Society of Rheology). They also take into account ‘service to society’ as an important component and a minimum period of 8 years as a member of the Society of Rheology. Annually, only 0.5% of the membership are eligible for the Fellowship.”

Congratulating Yogesh Joshi, IIT Kanpur Director Abhay Karandikar said, “This is indeed a matter of great pride for the institution. This adds more value to the research and innovation ecosystem of IIT Kanpur, and would boost the spirit of everyone at the institute to continue striving for excellence in any science and technology field.”

Also read | Children as young as 12 in UP’s Sultanpur addicted to tobacco products

Professor Yogesh M Joshi received his Bachelor of Engineering in Polymer Engineering from Pune University in 1996 and did his PhD in Chemical Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Bombay in 2001.

After his doctoral and postdoctoral studies at National Chemical Laboratory, and the Benjamin Levich Institute, City College of New York, CUNY, respectively, he joined the Department of Chemical Engineering of the Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur in 2004. He is currently the Pandit Girish and Sushma Rani Pathak Chair at IIT Kanpur.

His primary rheological work encompasses soft glassy materials, the sol-gel transition, and the phase behavior of colloidal dispersions. Sol-gel process is a method for producing solid materials from small molecules. He is a senior editor of Langmuir, a peer-reviewed scientific journal that was established in 1985 and is published by the American Chemical Society, and also serves on the editorial boards of the Journal of Rheology, Rheologica Acta, and Physics of Fluids.

Also read | Andhra Pradesh: 39,000 teacher vacancies in elementary school, shows government data

He has also been awarded several key scientific awards. In 2015, he was awarded the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award in Engineering Sciences by the Government of India, and Academy excellence award of the Defense Research and Development Organization 2019. In 2016, he was elected as a Fellow of the Indian National Academy of Engineering and in 2017, as the Fellow of National Academy of Sciences, India. He actively consults with industry, including UPL Ltd. and Unilever Inc., regarding improving the flow behavior and rheological stability of their products.

Follow us for the latest education news on colleges and universities, admission, courses, exams, research, education policies, study abroad and more..

To get in touch, write to us at news@careers360.com.

Download Our App

Start you preparation journey for JEE / NEET for free today with our APP

  • Students250M+Students
  • College30,000+Colleges
  • Exams500+Exams
  • Ebooks1500+Ebooks
  • Certification12000+Certifications