NEET 2021 registration begins; Know qualification codes

The application form for NEET-UG 2021 can be filled till August 6. The NEET 2021 exam will be conducted on September 12.

NEET 2021 registration begins; Know qualification codes
Sonia Vats | Jul 13, 2021 - 6:49 p.m. IST
Share Via

NEW DELHI: The National Testing Agency (NTA) has released the official notification for the National Eligibility cum Entrance Test or NEET 2021 at on July 13. Eligible candidates are required to submit the NEET UG 2021 application form by August 6. Aspirants seeking to appear for India's medical entrance exam must be aware of the NEET 2021 qualifications codes to be filled in the application form.

Recommended: Predict your Rank & Admission Chances in MBBS/BDS Govt. & Private Colleges as per your NEET ScoreClick Here 

NEET 2021 will be conducted on September 12 in pen and paper-based mode for admission to 83075 MBBS, 26,949 BDS, 52,720 AYUSH, and 525 BVSc and AH, 1,899 AIIMS and 249 JIPMER seats. Read the full story to know how to choose the correct qualification code for NEET 2021.

What is NEET 2021 qualification code and how to choose it?

The qualifying codes of NEET-UG 2021 describes the qualifying examination which an applicant has passed. It is necessary for aspirants to select a code during the registration for the NEET exam. Check the list of NEET 2021 qualifications codes below.

NEET 2021: Qualification codes

Qualifying Codes

Who can choose?

Code 1

  • Applicants who will be appearing for their Class 12 board exam in 2021 and waiting for their board’s result. However, till the time of admission, such candidates must have qualified their Class 12 as per the specified criterion, failing which they will become ineligible.

Code 2

  • Applicants studying from the higher/senior secondary examination or Indian School Certificate Examination (ISCE) which is equivalent to the Class 12 examination and comes after a period of 12 years. However, as per the National Council of Education Research and Training (NCERT), the last two years of this study must comprise science subjects namely Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology, and Mathematics or any other elective subjects with English as a core subject.

  • Candidates who have qualified Class 12 in the year 2020 or before and have not pursued any other course after the completion of Class 12.

  • Aspirants who have passed 10+2 from the National Institute of Open Schooling (NIOS) or state open school, as a private candidate from state boards; with Biology/Biotechnology as an additional subject.

Code 3

  • Candidates who have passed their Intermediate/Pre-Examination degree in Science stream from any recognized Indian University/Board or other body with Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology, and English as a compulsory subject. The qualifying examination should also include a practical test in the mentioned subjects.

Code 4

  • Aspirants who have done their pre-professional/pre-medical examination with Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology, and English after passing either the Higher Secondary examination or Pre-university or equivalent exam. The qualification of pre-professional or pre-medical examination should compulsorily include the practical tests in all subjects.

Code 5

  • Anyone who has passed the first year of a bachelor's degree from a recognized university with Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology inclusion of practical tests. Candidates should also verify that the first year exam qualified is a university-level exam and they have also qualified Class 12 qualifying examination with the said subjects at a level not less than a core course.

Code 6

  • Any aspirant who has passed the BSc examination with not less than two subjects which include Biology/Biotechnology, Physics and Chemistry can choose Code 6 from NEET qualification code 2021 as their eligibility code. Additional, such candidates must have passed the Class 10+2 qualifying examination with English, Chemistry, Physics and Biology/Biotechnology.

Code 7

  • Candidates who have passed any other examination, which is equivalent to the intermediate science examination of any university/board, can opt for code 7 as NEET code 2021. It must be taken into consideration that students must have completed two years of study in Physics, Biology/Biotechnology, Chemistry and English and have passed practical tests also.

  • NEET 2021 qualifying code 7 will be for foreign candidates as well. The equivalence of a particular course with Class 12 boards will be determined by the Association of Indian Universities (AIU). If the qualifying examination will be in grades, then the corresponding marks will be derived by AIU.

Write to us at

Know More About
Download Exam Brochure
Back to top